Music management and listening tech

I listen to music mainly on the ipod and in the car these days. Some times I watch a live music DVD but I’d definitely have to confirm that the ipod is my main platform for listening to music. I do have Winamp on my laptop and quite often if I’m on my laptop I’ll use that with headphones, especially if I’m in bed and don’t want to disturb anyone. I updated iTunes today, after waiting for quite a while, I used to always update iTunes but a couple of years ago the updates didn’t work terribly well so I stopped bothering to update – my wife’s ipod had issues and has eventually stopped working altogether. My ipods have kept going though I’m pleased to say. I have an 8gb version that I use for travelling and listening with my ear buds. I also have a 120gb version that I use mainly at home either through the hi-fi or my ipod dock speaker. The new iTunes interface is pretty smart looking.

ipod

I only use iTunes on our shared family PC because my wife and children have their own iTunes libraries. On my laptop I use Winamp and I just use the default interface for that although other skins are available. It’s functional but probably not as pretty as the new iTunes, which is certainly more visual if you are viewing the cover art.

Winamp

I’m listening to my ipod now and I have it attached to a small but nice sounding ipod dock speaker. Ipod dock units are very variable in their quality of output. The first dock I bought was fairly cheap and it didn’t sound good. It was one of those that look like a tube, mine is silver not the black as shown in the photo below.

ipod-dock

The dock I am using now is much better. I bought it for travelling but it is probably a little too heavy for that. It’s made by Pro Line and I got it from the electrical shop Comet before it closed down in 2012. I don’t know if you can still get them, couldn’t find one in a quick Amazon search just now. I like it because you can crank up the volume without distortion. Here it is, if you want to see what it looks like:

ipod dock pro line

Leave a Reply

