Amaranthe – The Nexus

I first heard of this band through following the trail of the female vocalist Elize Ryd who was on tour with Kamelot with Alissa White-Gluz (Arch Enemy) who both stood in for the previous vocalist for Nightwish (Anette Olzon) when she was taken to hospital rather than cancelling the gig. I saw this on the DVD that accompanied Nightwish’s 2013 Wacken concert released on DVD called Showtime Storytime, one of the DVDs was a documentary Please Learn the Setlist in 48 Hours.

Anyway, I watched a few videos on YouTube for Amaranthe and I liked what I heard, then I saw the album on offer on iTunes so I decided to buy it. I’m very pleased that I did. It pays to listen to the album several times, the music is fast and the singing a mixture of growls and clean vocals, the vocals by Elize Ryd are clean and are very good. There is a sort of electronic dance music feel to some of the songs but there is always heavy guitars. It’s fast and furious but always with a good melody.

Amaranthe-The_Nexus

Leave a Reply

